Vaughan Williams’s Sixth Symphony


Thursday 10th November 2016

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee)

Book Now

Mendelssohn - Overture: The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave) *
Bruch - Violin Concerto No.2
Janáček - Jealousy
Vaughan Williams - Symphony No.6

Sir Mark Elder & Jonathon Heyward*

James Ehnes, Violin

Mendelssohn’s briny Hebrides Overture was inspired by a storm-tossed voyage to Fingal’s Cave on the island of Staffa. It is conducted here by the Hallé’s new Assistant Conductor, Jonathon Heyward. James Ehnes gives a rare performance of Bruch’s Second Violin Concerto. Its wealth of great melody and virtuoso writing makes for fascinating comparison with its hugely popular predecessor. Fascinating too is Jealousy by Janáček, a passionate work originally conceived as the overture to his opera Jenůfa. Many interpreted Vaughan Williams’s stormy Sixth Symphony as a ‘war symphony’ after its premiere in 1944, though he strenuously denied this. Instead, the composer likened its hushed final epilogue to Prospero’s line in Shakespeare’s The Tempest: ‘We are such stuff as dreams are made on; and our little life is rounded with a sleep.’

(Image: Jeremy Ayres Fischer)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.