Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto


Wednesday 22nd March 2017 - Sunday 26th March 2017

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee); £3 Student discount available

Book Now

Sibelius - En Saga
Rachmaninov - Piano Concerto No.2
Stravinsky - The Firebird: Suite (1945)

Lahav Shani

Sofya Gulyak, Piano

Sponsored By:

Prodigiously gifted young Israeli conductor Lahav Shani makes his Hallé debut alongside a Hallé favourite, Sofya Gulyak. She is soloist in Rachmaninov’s evocative Second Piano Concerto. It opens with bell-like tolling that heralds a succession of sweeping and very Russian melodies, the piano writing breathtakingly virtuosic throughout. Shani then conducts Stravinsky’s enchanting and equally melodious Firebird Suite. This musical version of a Russian fairy tale begins in darkness and ends in great triumph and jubilation.

(Image: Anastasya Chernyavsky)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.