Beethoven 250

Given the continuing situation relating to COVID-19, the risks to public health and Government guidance, the Hallé has temporarily suspended all events due to the ongoing coronavirus situation. We will keep this decision under review as information about COVID-19 changes.

For the latest development, please visit:

Coronavirus Update

‘Farewell, and do not wholly forget me when I’m gone.’

So wrote Beethoven, in his Heiligenstadt Testament, the poignant and determined letter written just as he had become reconciled to living with constant and incurable deafness.

Between January and June 2020, the Hallé, in tandem with the BBC Philharmonic, and Manchester’s wider musical family will come together in a celebratory Beethoven cycle.

To most music-lovers, the idea of his being wholly forgotten is inconceivable. No musician can be untouched by what he did. The range and drama of his nine symphonies is without parallel, and it naturally occurred to us and to our BBC colleagues to celebrate this landmark with a complete cycle, played by the two symphony orchestras. Manchester’s wider musical family is there too; we have put the symphonies in the context of his sublime choral and vocal works.

The ‘Choral’ Symphony and Missa solemnis are acknowledged masterpieces, as is Fidelio, Beethoven’s only opera. They, and a host of less-familiar works for voices, confirm that his legacy is far more than that of the musical revolutionary. Beethoven’s writing for the human voice is as lyrical as it is unforgettable.

Tickets for Hallé concerts from £14.50 (including £2.50 booking fee). £5.50 student discounts available.

Tickets for BBC Philharmonic concerts from £12.50 (including £2.50 booking fee).

Click or tab any of the concerts below to book online. Or call Box Office on 0161 907 9000.

Beethoven Symphony No.9 with the Hallé



Sir Mark Elder – conductor
Giselle Allen – soprano
Sarah Castle – mezzo-soprano
David Butt-Philip – tenor
Neal Davies – bass
Hallé Youth Choir
Hallé Choir
RNCM Chorus

Book Beethoven Symphony No.9

Beethoven Symphony No.3 with the BBC Philharmonic


Ben Gernon – conductor
Jennifer Johnston – mezzo-soprano
Manchester Chamber Choir

The first of five BBC Philharmonic concerts celebrating 250 years since Beethoven’s birth gets right to the point with a landmark in Western music history. The concert includes The Creatures of Prometheus Overture and Incidental Music (selection), Operferlied and Symphony No.3 in E flat major ‘Eroica’
Book Beethoven Symphony No.3

Beethoven Symphony No.7 with the BBC Philharmonic


Mark Wigglesworth – conductor
Miah Persson – soprano
Kitty Whately – mezzo-soprano
Anthony Gregory – tenor
Brindley Sherratt – bass
Manchester Chamber Choir

Beethoven’s life was dogged by ill health and romantic failure, and his Seventh Symphony was written while he was suffering through both.
Book Beethoven Symphonic No.7

Beethoven Symphony No.8 and Fidelio Act II with the Hallé


Sir Mark Elder – conductor
Ben Gernon – conductor
Simon O’Neill – tenor
Rachel Nicholls – soprano
Brindley Sherratt – bass
Gemma Summerfield – soprano
Stuart Jackson – tenor
James Platt – bass
Hallé Choir

Book Beethoven Symphony No.8 and Fidelio Act II

Beethoven Symphony No.4 and Mass in C major with the BBC Philharmonic


Omer Meir Wellber – conductor
Emily Dorn – soprano
Rachel Frenkel – mezzo-soprano
Luis Gomes – tenor
Evan Hughes – bass
Dresdner Kammerchor

In association with the Dresden Music Festival, tonight’s concert brings together the BBC Philharmonic, the Dresden Chamber Choir and four outstanding international soloists under the baton of Omer Meir Wellber.
Book Beethoven Symphony No.4 and Mass in C major

Beyond The Score: Beethoven Symphony No.5 with the Hallé

THURSDAY 12 MARCH 2020, 7.30PM

Gergely Madaras – conductor
Gerard McBurney – Creative Director

‘Through live actors, stunning visual projections and excerpts performed by the Hallé, the compelling story of Beethoven’s art unfolds, illuminating the world that shaped the music’s creation. After the interval the audience hears the complete symphony armed with their new understanding of its genesis.’
Book Beyond The Score: Beethoven Symphony No.5

Beethoven Symphony No.2 with the Hallé



Sir Mark Elder – conductor
Jennifer France – soprano
Neal Davies – bass
Hallé Choir
RNCM Chorus

In Sir Mark’s final appearance in the Beethoven cycle, he combines the Second Symphony with the choral cantana, Christ on the Mount of Olives.
Book Beethoven Symphony No.2

Beethoven Symphony No.1 with the Hallé


THURSDAY 23 APRIL 2020, 7.30PM

Alondra de la Parra – conductor
Antje Weithaas – violin
Hallé Choir
Hallé Youth Choir

Alondra de la Parra, Music Director of Queensland Symphony Orchestra, makes her Hallé debut conducting Beethoven’s First Symphony, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage and Elegischer Gesang. She is joined by violinist Antje Weithaas who will perform Beethoven’s Violin Concerto.
Book Beethoven Symphony No.1

Beethoven Symphony No.6 & No.10 with the BBC Philharmonic


Ben Gernon – conductor
Sir Mark Elder – conductor
Martin Roscoe – piano
Crouch End Festival Chorus

Sir Mark Elder conducts the BBC Philharmonic for one night only in Beethoven’s sumptuous ‘Pastoral’ Symphony. It’s the highlight of a concert that also includes Ben Gernon conducting Beethoven’s Tenth Symphony, assembled by Professor Barry Cooper from the composer’s sketches, and the Choral Fantasy, which anticipates Beethoven’s epic Ninth Symphony in joyful and celebratory fashion.
Book Beethoven Symphony No.6 and No.10

Beethoven Missa solemnis with the BBC Philharmonic

SATURDAY 13 JUNE 2020, 7.30PM

Mark Wigglesworth – conductor
Lucy Crowe – soprano
Jurgita Adamontyé – mezzo-soprano
Allan Clayton – tenor
Roderick Williams – baritone
Hallé Choir

Five years in the making, this was one of the last major works Beethoven competed before his death, and ‘major’ is absolutely the right word for this towering tour de force.
Book Beethoven Missa solemnis


Call The Bridgewater Hall Box Office on 0161 907 9000 to book tickets.

Call the Hallé hotline on 0161 237 7000 for all other enquiries.

Or email for further information.

  • Website by