Brahms’ First Symphony


Wednesday 18th April 2018 - Sunday 22nd April 2018

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £14 (inc. booking fees); £5.50 student offer available

18 April 2018 - 2.15pm
19 April 2018 - 7.30pm
22 April 2018 - 7.30pm

Approximate finishing time 4.20pm / 9.30pm

Wagner - Overture: The Mastersingers
Mendelssohn - Violin Concerto
Brahms - Symphony No.1

Nicholas Collon

Augustin Hadelich, violin

Grammy award-winning Augustin Hadelich plays Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, the composer’s most popular creation and a wondrous fusion of romantic lyricism and classical restraint. It is an inspired, innovative work with a lullaby-like slow movement and a brilliant finale. Brahms struggled as he wrote his First Symphony, a process that took some nineteen years, though it was well worth the wait. This uplifting masterpiece established him as the true heir and successor of his great hero Beethoven. Conducting these concerts is the inspiring Nicholas Collon. He begins with The Mastersingers Overture, a superb medley of themes from Wagner’s most warm-hearted and humorous opera.

(Image credits: Jim Hinson; Luca Valenta)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the new measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.