Dvorák Symphony No.9


Wednesday 18th May 2016

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee)

Dvorák - Slavonic Dances 5'
Dvorák - Cello Concerto 38'
Dvorák - Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’ 36’

Sir Mark Elder

Gary Hoffman, Cello

This concert features two great works dating from Dvorák’s sojourn in America. His richly melodic and atmospheric ‘New World’ Symphony has always enjoyed enormous popularity. After its premiere in New York, the audience simply went wild and soon Dvorák collars, ties and walking sticks were all the rage! The public admired both the work’s American qualities and the music’s obvious nostalgia for Dvorák’s Czech homeland.

That nostalgia is also evident towards the end of the Cello Concerto when the composer poured out his grief for the death of his sister-in-law.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.