Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony


Wednesday 26th April 2017 - Sunday 30th April 2017

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee); £3 Student discount available

Elgar - Introduction and Allegro for Strings
Weber - Clarinet Concerto No.2
Tchaikovsky - Symphony No.5

Sir Mark Elder

Julian Bliss, Clarinet

Sponsored By:

Sir Mark conducts Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony, a work beloved of audiences around the globe. Like the same composer’s Fourth Symphony it features a recurrent fate motif and is a passage from despondency to joy. The symphony contains a heart-rending slow movement, a charming waltz and a truly spectacular finale. Though still relatively young, clarinettist Julian Bliss has been described as ‘a consummate master of his instrument’. Weber’s Second Concerto is the perfect vehicle to convey the wit, pose and vivacity of his playing. The inspiration for Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro was a folk tune he heard when on holiday in Wales. Elgar’s deep understanding of the string orchestra is evident throughout this wonderful work.

(Image credit: Benjamin Ealovega)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.