Finlandia – cancelled


Thursday 10th December 2020

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £16.50 (including booking fees)

Due to the current situation on Coronavirus, and in the light of Government’s advice given, we have decided to cancel this event.

Read a letter by our Chief Executive, John Summers about the 2020-21 season here.

Thursday 10 December 2020 - 7.30pm
Approximate finishing time - 9.30pm

Sibelius - Finlandia
Grieg - Piano Concerto
Alfvén - Swedish Rhapsody No.1, ‘Midsommarvaka’
Sibelius - Valse triste
Grieg - Peer Gynt Suite: selection

Stephen Bell

Joseph Moog, piano

This inspirational concert, perfect for winter, celebrates the patriotic music written by three Scandinavian composers. Two of the most famous pieces by Norwegian Edvard Grieg feature: his musical tableaux for the quintessentially Scandinavian play, Peer Gynt; and his stunning Piano Concerto, with its beautiful central Adagio, which will be performed by Grammy-nominated pianist Joseph Moog. Swedish composer Hugo Alfvén contributes his cheerful and light-hearted Midsummer Vigil, a symphonic rhapsody that gets right to the heart of his homeland’s folk music, whilst Finnish composer Jean Sibelius is represented by his haunting and melancholy Valse triste and his stirring tribute to his homeland, Finlandia.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.