Grieg’s Lyrical Masterwork


Wednesday 6th November 2019 - Sunday 10th November 2019

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £14.50, Under 30s and £5.50 student discount available (including booking fees)

Wednesday 6 November 2019 - 2.15pm
Thursday 7 November 2019 - 7.30pm
Sunday 10 November 2019 - 4pm

Approximate running time = 120 minutes

Grieg - Lyric Suite
Grieg - Piano Concerto
Sibelius - Symphony No.1

Tabita Berglund

Andrew Tyson, piano

Among Grieg’s staunch advocates was Tchaikovsky, admiring the ‘teeming vitality’ in the Norwegian’s music, qualities that abound in his Lyric Suite and Piano Concerto. Since winning the 2012 Terence Judd-Hallé Orchestra Prize at the Leeds International Piano Competition, Andrew Tyson has delighted Hallé audiences many times. Described as ‘a real poet of the piano’ by BBC Radio 3, Grieg’s lyrical masterwork suits him down to the ground and, naturally, the composer courses in the veins of Norwegian conductor and rising talent, Tabita Berglund. Tchaikovsky also cast his shadow on Sibelius, who commented to his wife that ‘There is much in that man I recognise in myself’; his benign influence is apparent in Sibelius’s First Symphony, especially in its impassioned soaring melodies.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.