Vaughan Williams’s Sixth Symphony


Thursday 10th November 2016

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee)

Mendelssohn - Overture: The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave) *
Bruch - Violin Concerto No.2
Janáček - Jealousy
Vaughan Williams - Symphony No.6

Sir Mark Elder & Jonathon Heyward*

James Ehnes, Violin

Mendelssohn’s briny Hebrides Overture was inspired by a storm-tossed voyage to Fingal’s Cave on the island of Staffa. It is conducted here by the Hallé’s new Assistant Conductor, Jonathon Heyward. James Ehnes gives a rare performance of Bruch’s Second Violin Concerto. Its wealth of great melody and virtuoso writing makes for fascinating comparison with its hugely popular predecessor. Fascinating too is Jealousy by Janáček, a passionate work originally conceived as the overture to his opera Jenůfa. Many interpreted Vaughan Williams’s stormy Sixth Symphony as a ‘war symphony’ after its premiere in 1944, though he strenuously denied this. Instead, the composer likened its hushed final epilogue to Prospero’s line in Shakespeare’s The Tempest: ‘We are such stuff as dreams are made on; and our little life is rounded with a sleep.’

(Image credit: Jeremy Ayres Fischer)

Pre-concert Event, 6.30pm – with James Ehnes and Tiberiu Buta

Soloist for the evening’s concert, James Ehnes, is joined by Hallé violinist, Tiberiu Buta, to discuss the programme which includes Bruch’s rarely performed Second Violin Concerto. The Northern Legends theme for the 2016-17 season is explored in this pre-concert event, delving into the mysterious world of folklore.

The pre-concert event will take place in the auditorium and is free for concert ticket holders.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.