Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony (booking not yet open)


Wednesday 27th January 2021 - Sunday 31st January 2021

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £14.50 (including booking fees)

Book Now

Booking for the 2020-21 season is not yet open. As soon as tickets are available, we will update our website with full details. Follow us on social media or sign up to our newsletter for further announcements.

Read a letter by our Chief Executive, John Summers about the 2020-21 season here.

Wednesday 27 January 2021 - 2.15pm
Thursday 28 January 2021 (The Abraham Moss memorial concert) - 7.30pm
Sunday 31 January 2021 - 4pm

Approximate running time - 120 minutes

R. Strauss - Don Juan
Saint-Saëns - Piano Concerto No.2
Mendelssohn - Symphony No.4, ‘Italian’

Ken-David Masur

Pavel Kolesnikov, piano

Having impressed Hallé audiences in 2019, Pavel Kolesnikov returns to play Saint-Saëns’ most popular concerto, his second, of which it was once said that ‘it begins with Bach and ends up with Offenbach’. Joining him is the conductor Ken-David Masur, Music Director of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra. Richard Strauss’s tone poem Don Juan is a dazzling display of orchestral brilliance, as witnessed by the oboe’s captivating love music. Mendelssohn commented about the symphony he’d begun when visiting Italy, ‘It will be the jolliest piece I have done’, and indeed it does enshrine the sights and sounds of the country from its joyous, spring-like opening to its fiery, dancing conclusion.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.