Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto (booking not yet open)


Wednesday 19th May 2021 - Sunday 23rd May 2021

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £14.50 (including booking fees)

Book Now

Booking for the 2020-21 season is not yet open. As soon as tickets are available, we will update our website with full details. Follow us on social media or sign up to our newsletter for further announcements.

Read a letter by our Chief Executive, John Summers about the 2020-21 season here.

Wednesday 19 May 2021 - 2.15pm
Thursday 20 May 2021 - 7.30pm
Sunday 23 May 2021 - 4pm

Approximate running time - 120 minutes

Prokofiev - Symphony No.1, ‘Classical’
Mendelssohn - Violin Concerto in E minor
Schumann - Symphony No.1, ‘Spring’

Tomás Hanus

Eldbjørg Hemsing, violin

Tomá Hanus, Welsh National Opera’s Music Director, returns to the Hallé with Prokofiev’s ‘Classical’ Symphony, his witty and affectionate ‘take’ on Haydn’s symphonies, heard through 20th-century ears. A household name in her native Norway, Eldbjørg Hemsing made her concerto debut aged only 11. She plays Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, its popularity assured through an instantly memorable, impassioned opening, which, according to the composer, constantly ran through his head and gave him no peace until he’d completed it. It was Mendelssohn who conducted the premiere of Schumann’s First Symphony, whose sunny personality arose from the ‘longing for spring’ which inspired its creation early in the year.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.