Rachmaninov’s Hidden Secret


Wednesday 20th May 2020 - Sunday 24th May 2020

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £14.50 (including booking fees)

Book Now

Wednesday 20 May 2020 - 2.15pm
Thursday 21 May 2020 - 7.30pm
Sunday 24 May 2020 - 4pm

Approximate running time = 120 minutes

Rachmaninov - Symphonic Dances
Ravel - Piano Concerto in G major
Stravinsky - The Firebird: Suite [1945]

Sir Mark Elder

Benjamin Grosvenor, piano

Having made a deep impression playing Beethoven with the Hallé, the young, internationally acclaimed British virtuoso, Benjamin Grosvenor, returns to play Ravel’s jazz-inspired Concerto in G major. Sir Mark opens the programme with Rachmaninov’s very last work, his Symphonic Dances, embedded within it a nostalgic self-quotation, the main theme of his First Symphony, which due to its disastrous first performance was never played again in the composer’s lifetime. The season’s Opus One concerts conclude with the work that triumphantly ended the Hallé’s 2018 BBC Prom – Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite – ‘it whispered as powerfully as it thundered’ was the Arts Desk’s verdict.

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.