Shostakovich’s First Symphony


Wednesday 13th March 2019 - Sunday 17th March 2019

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tickets from £14; Under 30s and £5.50 student discount available (including booking fees)

13 March 2019 - 2.15pm
14 March 2019 - 7.30pm
17 March 2019 - 7.30pm

Running time approximately 105 minutes

Dvorák - Scherzo capriccioso
Chopin - Piano Concerto No.1*
Shostakovich - Symphony No.1

Tomás Hanus

Eric Lu, Winner of the 2018 Leeds International Piano Competition

Czech conductor, Tomás Hanus, conducts Dvorák’s Scherzo capriccioso, bursting with Bohemian charm. Eric Lu, the latest winner of the Leeds International Piano Competition will then take centre stage for Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor. Shostakovich’s astonishingly assured First Symphony lays out his youthful manifesto of where the symphonic form might go in the twentieth century, with an appreciative nod in the direction of tradition. More than anything, it’s great fun too!

(Image credit: WNO, Allan McKenzie)

*Please note: This work replaces Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.1

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the new measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.