Sibelius’s Seventh Symphony


Thursday 10th May 2018

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £14 (inc. booking fees); £5.50 student offer available

Concert begins at 7.30pm
Approximate finishing time 9.30pm

Beethoven - Violin Concerto in D
Ryan Wigglesworth - Clocks from a Winter's Tale *
Sibelius - Symphony No.7

* Supported by

Ryan Wigglesworth

Henning Kraggerud, violin

The remarkable Henning Kraggerud returns to play, what is for many, the greatest Violin Concerto of them all. Its extensive first movement is largely lyrical, the second sublime and the third simply bursts with buoyancy and energy. Clocks from a Winter’s Tale emerged from Ryan Wigglesworth’s Shakespeare-based opera The Winter’s Tale, given its premiere by English National Opera in 2017. Its three movements explore the development of simple rhythmic figures or pulses – hence ‘clocks’ – as they warp, bend and collide. Huge thanks to PRS Foundation for making this new commission possible. Equally fascinating is Sibelius’s final symphony, his Seventh. An enigmatic work, it is a single span of continuous musical development in which seven sections are linked by almost imperceptible changes of tempo.

Pre-concert event 6:30pmat The Bridgewater Hall auditorium, free to concert ticket holders

Hallé Education Director, Steve Pickett, is joined by Peter Green from the Manchester University School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering to introduce the Hallé’s pioneering education and community projects including a presentation of the extraordinary Halléoojamaflipaphone!

(Image credits: Benjamin Ealovega; Robert Romik)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies booking fee of £2.50 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. No fee applies to tickets bought in person or purchased as part of a fixed or flexible subscription.

Patrons should note the new measures in place for admission to The Bridgewater Hall. Please visit here for details.