Prokofiev’s ‘Classical’ Symphony


Wednesday 18th January 2017 - Sunday 22nd January 2017

The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

From £13 (including booking fee)

Prokofiev - Symphony No.1, ‘Classical’
Tchaikovsky - Variations on a Rococo Theme
Tchaikovsky - Symphony No.4

Louis Langrée

Jian Wang, Cello

Sponsored By:

Hallé favourite Louis Langrée conducts an irresistible all-Russian programme. In the first half we hear two works that honour the composers of the eighteenth century. Prokofiev’s boisterous ‘Classical’ Symphony is a warm and humorous tribute to Haydn, though it also has its own distinctive wit and charm. The superlative Jian Wang also makes a return to Manchester where last season he was a huge hit with Hallé audiences. He is soloist in Tchaikovsky’s elegant Rococo Variations, an homage to Mozart – a figure Tchaikovsky regarded as a ‘musical god’. More Tchaikovsky in the second half in the form of the composer’s gripping Fourth Symphony. With its recurring fate motif, it is one of music’s most dramatic and satisfying journeys with a profusion of great melodies along the way.

(Image credit: Benjamin Ealovega)

Ticket Information >>

The Bridgewater Hall applies a booking fee of £2 per ticket to telephone and online transactions. Tickets bought in person at the Box Office using a debit card or credit card are subject to a 2% booking fee. No fee applies to tickets bought in person and paid for by cash or cheque or purchased as part of a fixed or personal subscription.