Board Members


The Board, comprising of individuals who give their time and expertise on a voluntary basis, meets approximately 10 times a year to review strategy and operational performance and to set operating plans and budgets. The Board consists of a maximum of 13 members appointed as follows:

Elected: Nominated by 10 members of the Society, unless recommended by the Board
Nominated: Nominated by Manchester City Council (1) and AGMA (2), appointed by the Board

The Chief Executive reports to the Board on behalf of the Management and Staff.

The Hallé Staff support the day-to-day administration and running of the Orchestra and its Ensembles, which includes scheduling concerts, planning repertoire, travel logistics, marketing, finances, funding and education work.

Cllr Azra Ali
Councillor for Burnage (Manchester City Council representative on the Board)

Heejae Chae
Group Chief Executive of Scapa Group plc

Christine Gaskell MBE
Retired HR Director at Bentley Motors Limited

Theresa Grant
Chief Executive of Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council (Association of Greater Manchester Authorities representative on the Board)

Jane Hampson
Business and Development Manager in Educational Improvement with Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council Children’s Services

Brandon Leigh (Deputy Chair)
Group Finance Director at PZ Cussons

David McKeith (Chair)
Senior Independent Director and Audit Committee Chairman at Norcros plc and a non-executive director of Manchester Concert Hall Limited. Former NW Senior Partner for PricewaterhouseCoopers and former Chairman of Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce

Jon Mcleod
Chairman of global PR agency Weber Shandwick’s Manchester office, and the PR firm’s Corporate, Financial and Public Affairs division in London

Professor Linda Merrick
Principal at the Royal Northern College of Music and professional clarinettist

Cllr Cliff Morris
Leader of Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council (Association of Greater Manchester Authorities representative on the Board)

Katrina Michel
CEO of Marketing Cheshire

His Honour John Phillips CBE
A former professional violinist, barrister and circuit judge


The Board has three standing sub-committees with specific areas of responsibility and which make recommendations to the Board: Audit Committee, Nominations and Remuneration Committee and Investment Committee. Other ad hoc sub-committees may also be formed to oversee special projects and their terms of operation are agreed in advance by the Board.

The members of the three standing committees are:

Audit Committee
Heejae Chae
Brandon Leigh (Chair)
John Phillips
Will Smith (co-optee)

Nominations and Remuneration Committee
Heejae Chae
Christine Gaskell (Chair)
Brandon Leigh
David McKeith

Investment Committee
Richard Bailey (Chair & Trustee of Hallé Endowment Trust)
Val Hawkin
David McKeith (Trustee of Hallé Endowment Trust)
Edward Pysden (Trustee of Hallé Endowment Trust)
Colin Smith (Trustee of Hallé Endowment Trust)

The Hallé Society Group consists of the Hallé Concerts Society, its subsidiary Hallé Promotions Limited and three related trusts: the Hallé Endowment Trust; the Charles Hallé Foundation and the Hallé Concerts Society Sickness and Benevolent Fund, which are aggregated on the basis that they represent branches of the Society.

The Society also has a connected charity, the Terence Judd Trust Fund.

Terms of Reference

Download the committee reports below (PDF)

Audit Committee
Investment Committee
Nominations and Remuneration Committee

  • Website by